Post by account_disabled on Feb 24, 2024 3:40:14 GMT -6
If you intend to sponsor content on LinkedIn , or create campaigns to achieve important business objectives, you will certainly have many questions: how much does advertising cost? And how to evaluate performance? We can immediately anticipate that advertising on LinkedIn is more expensive than other social platforms, obviously based on average data, but this should not scare us. As always, it is essential to evaluate which opportunities we want to seize, the sector in which we intend to operate (in this case essentially B2B) and the value of the final results. In this article, we will answer these questions and try to help you understand whether it makes sense for your company to invest in LinkedIn Ads. LinkedIn Ads: the importance of CPM The first index to understand this difference in costs between LinkedIn and other social networks is the cost per thousand impressions (CPM) , or how much 1,000 views of an advert cost on average. On LinkedIn, the average cost per 1,000 impressions globally is €35 .
This figure can fluctuate strongly, based on the objectives of the campaigns or the Middle East Phone Number List country in which they are activated : for example, a campaign with a "brand awareness" objective will cost significantly less than a campaign with a "contact form" objective, as well as a campaign localized in Italy will have much lower costs per impression than one localized in Germany. Another element that could increase costs is a very narrow target , limited to a few thousand users. In my experience, I would not be surprised to see a CPM of €90 or more in particularly competitive sectors (such as the financial or biomedical sectors) in the United States or Germany. If we then want to design a campaign, we will take into account the CPM to estimate the number of impressions our adverts will receive: Average CPM: €35 Budget: €4,500 (€4,500/€35)*1,000 = 128,571 impressions Compared to Facebook, where the CPM in Italy can easily cost 3 euros or even less, we immediately understand the difference in the number of impressions that we will generate with the same budget of €4,500, i.e. 1,500,000 versus "only" 128,571 on LinkedIn. Linkedin's average CPM can also be useful for determining an adequate budget to generate a certain number of impressions, consistently with the target we have selected.
If we know that our target is, for example, 10,000 users, and we hypothetically wanted to reach them once (1 impression for each user), we would proceed in this way: Average CPM: €35 Desired impressions: 10,000 10,000/1,000 = 10 10*35 € = 350 € With the same amount of €350, we would have obtained more than 116,000 impressions on Facebook, considering a CPM of €3. Why Consider Advertising on LinkedIn? But then why invest in LinkedIn given this large difference in costs? Because on this platform we have the opportunity to reach a highly profiled audience with respect to work activity, company, type of industrial sector , which is extremely difficult on other social networks. This, obviously, does not prevent us from finding the same people elsewhere at more convenient costs, because in carrying out advertising campaigns we are still dealing with people who can be present on multiple platforms. What I recommend is first of all to check the numerical consistency of the selected target on LinkedIn : if there is a sufficient number of them to activate a campaign (more than 300 users, but LinkedIn suggests at least 50,000), we can then produce an initial test to compare the results compared to other platforms, evaluating not only the costs per objective, but also the quality of the results .
This figure can fluctuate strongly, based on the objectives of the campaigns or the Middle East Phone Number List country in which they are activated : for example, a campaign with a "brand awareness" objective will cost significantly less than a campaign with a "contact form" objective, as well as a campaign localized in Italy will have much lower costs per impression than one localized in Germany. Another element that could increase costs is a very narrow target , limited to a few thousand users. In my experience, I would not be surprised to see a CPM of €90 or more in particularly competitive sectors (such as the financial or biomedical sectors) in the United States or Germany. If we then want to design a campaign, we will take into account the CPM to estimate the number of impressions our adverts will receive: Average CPM: €35 Budget: €4,500 (€4,500/€35)*1,000 = 128,571 impressions Compared to Facebook, where the CPM in Italy can easily cost 3 euros or even less, we immediately understand the difference in the number of impressions that we will generate with the same budget of €4,500, i.e. 1,500,000 versus "only" 128,571 on LinkedIn. Linkedin's average CPM can also be useful for determining an adequate budget to generate a certain number of impressions, consistently with the target we have selected.
If we know that our target is, for example, 10,000 users, and we hypothetically wanted to reach them once (1 impression for each user), we would proceed in this way: Average CPM: €35 Desired impressions: 10,000 10,000/1,000 = 10 10*35 € = 350 € With the same amount of €350, we would have obtained more than 116,000 impressions on Facebook, considering a CPM of €3. Why Consider Advertising on LinkedIn? But then why invest in LinkedIn given this large difference in costs? Because on this platform we have the opportunity to reach a highly profiled audience with respect to work activity, company, type of industrial sector , which is extremely difficult on other social networks. This, obviously, does not prevent us from finding the same people elsewhere at more convenient costs, because in carrying out advertising campaigns we are still dealing with people who can be present on multiple platforms. What I recommend is first of all to check the numerical consistency of the selected target on LinkedIn : if there is a sufficient number of them to activate a campaign (more than 300 users, but LinkedIn suggests at least 50,000), we can then produce an initial test to compare the results compared to other platforms, evaluating not only the costs per objective, but also the quality of the results .